Page 84

Does the order of the five steps of Jesus' humiliation as listed in the Apostle's Creed reveal a sequential, depth, or deliverance order? Explain.

How do we need Christ's delivering and strengthening grace in our birth, sufferings, death, burial. and deliverance from hell?

Had Christ's divine nature not upheld His human nature, He could never have borne the full wrath of God against sin nor the total punishments of hell.

    The Old Testament Brazen Altar of Burnt Offerings pictured the cross of Christ. All animal sacrifices were made on this altar, picturing Christ and the cross as the only sacrifice pleasing to God.

    The Brazen Altar was made of shittim wood and overlaid with brass. The wood pictures Christ's human nature, the brass His divine.

    The Brazen Altar would have been consumed with its sacrifices if the wood had not been overlaid with brass.

    What truth pertaining to Jesus' descent into hell on the cross is pictured by the Brazen Altar's construction? Why is this a very valuable truth?

    Michael listened to the Apostle's Creed being read in church. It described and listed the five steps of Christ's humiliation in the following manner and order:

    1. Who was conceived by the Holy Ghost, born of the Virgin Mary;
    2. Suffered under Pontius Pilate;
    3. Was crucified,
    4. Dead and buried:
    5. He descended into hell.

    "If Jesus descended into hell before He died and not after, why is it listed as the last and not the third or the fourth step?" he wondered. On the way home from church he asked his father.

    "It's listed in this order for two reasons," his father replied:

    1. This order reflects the degrees of Jesus' humiliation - not the order in which He actually experienced them. His descent into hell was Christ's deepest humiliation.

    2. This order indicates the order in which the Church is delivered by the merits of Christ. God's children are delivered from the power of death, grave, and hell, in that order.

Previous PageNext Page